Bounce Back from Depression

555853_774169439265935_1577367169_nThere are times when all of us may feel tired, overwhelmed, sick and depressed. Depression may be a sign from our body, from our psychic telling us to wake up.

Negative thoughts cause us pain which is supposed to awaken us. Just thank that thought, that feeling and start doing what you love.

Do something that makes you appreciate life, something that makes you be grateful for being alive.

It can be something simple: put some music and move your body. Release tensions and frustration through music. Dance and rhythm is used from ancient times for divine purposes. Rhythm is divine. Stars have rhythm, plants have rhythm, your heart has a rhythm.

When we feel signs of depresion remember what Leo from zenhabits.net says:

1. I stopped being so self-centered.

So thinking about others instead of myself helps solve self-doubt and self-pity.

2. I loosened my identity.

For example, we get attached to ideas of who we are.Others might question what we do which can make us feel angry or hurt because of criticism, the need to be right etc.

“When I wasn’t productive, it made me despair because then I was worried I wasn’t who I thought I was. My solution was to realize that I’m not one thing.”

“It doesn’t matter if someone thinks I didn’t do a good job — because I don’t always do a good job. I make mistakes, I am less than perfect. And that’s perfectly OK.”

3. I remembered that this day counts.

“I only have so many days left on earth. I don’t know how many that is, but I do know it’s a very limited number. I know that each one of those limited days is a gift, a blessing, a miracle. ”

” Sometimes taking a break to nourish yourself is a worthwhile activity, because that allows you to do other worthwhile things, but just sitting around in self-pity isn’t helpful, I’ve found. So I got up and did something.”

4. I created movement.

“It can be hard to get moving when you are stuck. This is how I felt in 2005 when I couldn’t change any of my habits (…)

“I took the smallest possible step. Just opening up a document, just starting a list, just getting out a notebook. These are so small as to be insignificant, and yet so easy as to be possible. And it showed me the next step was possible, and the next.”

‘Self-pity is our worst enemy and if we yield to it, we can never do anything wise in this world.’~Helen Keller

source: http://zenhabits.net/

Love and Light from Adele

Leave a Reply

